Skip to content

The Kick-Off

March 22, 2010

When I look back, I am so impressed again with the life-giving power of literature. If I were a young person today, trying to gain a sense of myself in the world, I would do that again by reading,just as I did when I was young.
-Maya Angelou

Books have the ability to change us, almost always for the better..

So let’s read together. The time from now (March 23,2010) until the start of the readings (May 2nd, 2010) is a time to join the club, get to know the site, and begin suggesting books and choosing the first book to read.

I want this whole thing to go smoothly. I don’t want anyone to feel lost or left behind. This is just simply reading, learning, and loving. Enjoy yourself.

I want this site to feel like a virtual round table, where we can become friends and share our minds.  I’m completely open to ideas and to what you think could improve. So at any point just tell me! : )

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 22, 2010 1:10 pm

    I’ll bite, although I’m not sure I’m willing to wait a month and a half to get started! I read, A LOT. I read so much, that honestly, I’ve run out of things TO read. Everything these days is typical and predictable for me. Okay, well, not everything, but it is becoming harder and harder to find originality. Here’s hoping your idea takes off.

  2. March 22, 2010 2:47 pm

    Fantastic! Oh don’t let me stop you from reading until then! This site will just be a good way to discuss the books with other people..and keep people who don’t read as often on track!

    Subscribe so you can keep up with what goes on in here!

    -Shauna

    • March 22, 2010 5:28 pm

      Lol…don’t worry, I won’t stop reading until then. I’ve got four books on the go at any given time. It’s more so the discussion I’d be looking forward to.

  3. nbjeggels permalink
    April 1, 2010 4:15 am

    Sounds interesting! I’m busy with the 50bookchallenge on LJ, so I could include this … what do you say?

  4. April 4, 2010 9:00 pm

    Absolutely, glad to have youuuu! Can’t wait for summer! Only a month or so left woohoo!

    -S

Leave a Reply

